The Frank McCourt Literary Prize

Each year three graduating students from Frank McCourt High School are recognized for their achievements in writing, and given a cash award by IAW&A, in honor of the great, late Frank McCourt.

And The Winner Is...

IAW&A is proud to announce that the recipient of the 2014 Eugene O'Neill Lifetime Achievement Award is legendary journalist and author PETE HAMILL.

Ashley Davis - Night Travels : AVAILABLE NOW

On her fourth album Night Travels Ashley offers a collection of heart-piercing melodies and soul-searing lyrics that weaves its sounds and images so seamlessly, that the traditional and contemporary co-exist effortlessly.

Membership - Join The IAW&A

Become a member of the largest and most exciting Irish American arts organization in the United States.

IAW&A Salons

At our bi-monthly Salons, IAW&A member novelists, poets, musicians, filmmakers, painters, theatre artists, and more give presentations of up to ten minutes to a supportive community. To present or volunteer to help, send an email to

The Eugene O'Neill Lifetime Achievement Award

IAW&A's highest honor is presented every year in October to a writer, actor, musician or other artist in recognition of an astounding body of work.


IAW&A is a non-profit organization dedicated to the celebration of Irish American writers, actors, musicians, filmmakers and artists both past and present. We are an INDEPENDENT and PROGRESSIVE collective dedicated to the principle that by promoting and appreciating creative expression, we can enhance the human condition. Our goal is to highlight the RICH TRADITION of Irish Americans in all manner of artistic endeavor in the United States, from the 19th Century to the present day.


Pete Hamill Alice McDermott William Kennedy Gabriel Byrne Edward Burns Ellen McCourt Terry George Alphie McCourt Hillary Flynn Fionnula Flanagan Michael O'Keefe Loretta Brennan-Glucksman T.J. English Peter Quinn Patricia Harty Dan Barry Brian Corrigan Mick Moloney Joe Quinlan